The Future of Mobile Gaming


Research firm, Flurry Analytics says, by the end of 2011, 58 percent of U.S. portable game software revenue will be from games played on Android or Apple products. Critics are now wondering if gaming giants, Nintendo and Sony will be able to handle a significantly lower market share than mobile platforms.

What critics haven’t thought about is the audience. Many people have a smart phone or plan to get a smart phone in the near future, however these people aren’t necessarily Nintendo and Sony’s audience for their systems.The average Joe is going to download Angry Birds, but he probably won’t hand over $250 dollars for the Vita. Logically, more people are going to download casual games on their phone than buy the Nintendo DS or Vita.

It goes the same way for gamers. I would never play Star Ocean: First Departure on my phone, even if it was there, so I would need my PSP to play it. However, I would rather play Fruit Ninja on my phone, so even I am contributing to the mobile game market. Critics need to keep in mind what games are available on which platform, and who is going to play those games. It is quite simple there are fewer gamers than there are regular people, so the games for mobile phones are going to outsell the traditional gaming handhelds.

As technology grows, companies that were leaders in an area may shift, because the new technology appeals to a greater mass of people.

Don’t worry about Nintendo and Sony, portable gaming is here to stay—unless they’re stupid and try to shape their product around this craze.

Comments

  1. Would always love to get updated great blog!
    Rakeback

  2. Good post. I study something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It should always be stimulating to read content material from other writers and apply a little bit something from their store. I’d choose to use some with the content material on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a hyperlink on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So good to find any individual with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this web site is something that is needed on the net, somebody with a bit of originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  4. Natasha Schuyler that was awesome!

  5. I have to completely agree with you. While the “mini-game” mobile crazy (as I like to call it) is extremely profitable, I would not try to play a full AAA title on an Android or iOS platform. I need real controls to play most games, and touch screen and gyroscope interaction can only go so far!

    • I totally agree! I love classic game controls…heck I’m not even a fan of the motion gaming trend. However, I think what Sony is doing to the vita add touch pad to the back of the system and six-axis is a nice addition to classic controls.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Mystery Case Files Has Been Played by 100 Million People – Tricia Duryee – Commerce – AllThingsDThe Future of Mobile Gaming var […]

Leave a Reply

