Kindle Fire an iPad Killer?

The iPad has been a staple in the tablet market since its inception. The Apple brand, the amount of apps available and its ability to watch T.V. and movies has kept the iPad from fearing any competitor that emerges. Now Apple might have some fear in its eyes.

Amazon’s Kindle Fire will launch Nov. 15th. The Fire will come with many features already available on other tablets including, apps and games, books, magazines, and web browsing. However, the Fire will host a new web browser called Silk.

The Silk browser splits its resources between the cloud and what is run on the device, theoretically making surfing quicker. According to a video on Amazon’s Silk blog, the difference in time between a traditional browser and Silk is waiting hundreds of milliseconds and waiting five milliseconds. Also the browser will aggregate user behavior, so if a majority of users tend to move to a certain page after the homepage the browser will start sending the information before you decide to go that page.

The Fire will also offer thousands of movies, television shows, songs.
Now the question is will these push the Fire to compete with the iPad or just wander aimlessly in the market like the other tablets available.

The Fire will be significantly cheaper than the iPad launching at $199 instead of iPad’s starting price of $499.

Amazon’s Kindle series has a brand identity that the other tablets don’t have. This is the main reason the Fire has a chance to directly compete with the iPad.

Since most features of the Fire are consistent with what tablets offer. Price and brand are going to dictate the Fire’s success in the tablet market.

Apple’s iPad will continue to hold the top spot after Fire’s launch. However, the Fire offers a viable alternative to the iPad, and a solid second place.

Comments

  1. The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  2. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  3. Great Article! Quick read and informative.

  4. Good Post. You do a good job. Thanks again.

  5. Thanks for the writeup about this. Greatly appreciated.

  6. $author, thanks for the valuable info with a unique point of view

  7. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “go back the desire”.I’m trying to in finding issues to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to make use of some of your ideas!!

  8. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have truly loved browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  9. I really enjoy reading through on this web site , it has got superb blog posts.

  10. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding pattern. “Individuals may form communities, but it is institutions alone that can create a nation.” by Benjamin Disraeli.

  11. I went over this site and I conceive you have a lot of great information, bookmarked (:.

  12. Hey there, Thanks I really enjoyed the valuable info and unique point of view.

  13. Good post, Love it. Keep it up. Thanks!

  14. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were handy extremely helpful

  15. Thank you for helping out, superb info. “The health of nations is more important than the wealth of nations.” by Will Durant.

  16. You have remarked very interesting details! ps nice internet site.

  17. I always was interested in this subject and stock still am, thanks for posting.

  18. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  19. Throughout this grand pattern of things you actually get a B+ just for effort. Where exactly you actually lost us was on all the specifics. You know, they say, details make or break the argument.. And it could not be much more accurate in this article. Having said that, let me say to you what did work. Your text is definitely very engaging which is probably the reason why I am taking the effort to opine. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, even though I can certainly notice the leaps in logic you make, I am not necessarily convinced of exactly how you appear to unite the details that produce the actual conclusion. For the moment I will subscribe to your issue however trust in the near future you connect the dots much better.

  20. I have recently started a site, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work. “Her grandmother, as she gets older, is not fading but rather becoming more concentrated.” by Paulette Bates Alden.

  21. I got what you mean , appreciate it for putting up.Woh I am lucky to find this website through google. “Remember that what you believe will depend very much on what you are.” by Noah Porter.

  22. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  23. You have brought up a very good points , thankyou for the post.

  24. Great write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  25. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy handy

  26. I was reading through some of your articles on this internet site and I believe this web site is real instructive! Keep on putting up.

  27. You are a very capable individual!

  28. Kindle Fire is great. Just got mine today. Amazon Silk makes it super fast.

Leave a Reply

