MicroSoft College Campus Tour 2011

I walked through the quad early this afternoon, and everything was normal. Students were walking to class and getting their coffee. When I walked through the quad later, it was buzzing with energy. The building my math class is located is in the back of the quad and was adjacent to a tent. I walked by seeing Windows computers set up inside, along with other windows products, but what interested me the most as a gamer was the Kinect booth. Unfortunately I had to wait until after class to play Kinect for the first time.

The time to experience gaming without a controller had come. I have used the Wii Remote and the Playstation Move, so I really wanted to see if playing without a controller was as stupid as I expected it to be. The game that I was fortunate to demo was Dance Central. As a dancer for 13 years, I felt really stupid while playing. Dance games kick my butt, I fail at DDR and now Dance Central. The reason I had hated on Kinect before was because I thought prancing around in front of a television would make people look and feel retarded. However, I have to admit that it was really fun, but I can’t see the Kinect used as a system for hard-core games. Obviously my five minutes with Kinect, I can’t judge the extent the Kinect can be used for hard-core gaming, but I still prefer traditional controllers to all types of motion gaming.

All in all, my debut to the Kinect was enjoyable, and I can officially say I don’t have the right to bash it anymore, but for motion gaming in all, including Nintendo and Sony, I am not convinced–yet.

Comments

  1. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

